Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 53
  1. #1
    BamaNation Second Team
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Questions on Ref's Calls

    This is not Ref flamming. Just a couple of questions:

    1. Why was the interception by TAMU called incomplete? It appeared the players toe touched the green before the heel came down. Was this the right call because of a rule that states a player must have the whole foot down while going backwards?

    2. Although I think is was great coaching on TAMU's part, the offsides at the end was clearly the wrong call. The ref did not read the offense line correctly. They were not coaxed into moving, they were coached into moving. Big difference! The Bama player was a good 2 yards from the OP. The ref should have called motion.

    I agree with basically everyone about the turnovers and playcalling. I was screaming for a timeout on the 4th and 2 after AJ took a big hit. Don't understand that decision. ??

    Roll Tide! We may still have a shot at the Natty with a little help.

  2. Advertisement
  3. #2
    BamaNation First Team Bear Disciple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Posts
    868
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    GameFace on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by Bamatide44 View Post
    This is not Ref flamming. Just a couple of questions:

    1. Why was the interception by TAMU called incomplete? It appeared the players toe touched the green before the heel came down. Was this the right call because of a rule that states a player must have the whole foot down while going backwards?

    2. Although I think is was great coaching on TAMU's part, the offsides at the end was clearly the wrong call. The ref did not read the offense line correctly. They were not coaxed into moving, they were coached into moving. Big difference! The Bama player was a good 2 yards from the OP. The ref should have called motion.

    I agree with basically everyone about the turnovers and playcalling. I was screaming for a timeout on the 4th and 2 after AJ took a big hit. Don't understand that decision. ??

    Roll Tide! We may still have a shot at the Natty with a little help.
    Entire foot must be in bounds. It was the correct call.

  4. #3
    Moderator Ldlane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shonto, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    11,038
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    BamaVictory on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by Bamatide44 View Post
    This is not Ref flamming. Just a couple of questions:

    1. Why was the interception by TAMU called incomplete? It appeared the players toe touched the green before the heel came down. Was this the right call because of a rule that states a player must have the whole foot down while going backwards?

    2. Although I think is was great coaching on TAMU's part, the offsides at the end was clearly the wrong call. The ref did not read the offense line correctly. They were not coaxed into moving, they were coached into moving. Big difference! The Bama player was a good 2 yards from the OP. The ref should have called motion.

    I agree with basically everyone about the turnovers and playcalling. I was screaming for a timeout on the 4th and 2 after AJ took a big hit. Don't understand that decision. ??

    Roll Tide! We may still have a shot at the Natty with a little help.
    1. It's where the heel lands.

    2. Don't know.
    Sports Do Not Build Character...They Reveal It. - John Wooden

  5. #4
    BamaNation Second Team
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    But, a receiver can have the top of his toe slide on the green and be ruled complete. Is is just a backwards issue?

  6. #5
    BamaNation All-American IMALOYAL1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Birmingham AL
    Posts
    2,837
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    Fine on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    a rule that states a player must have the whole foot down while going backwards?
    LOL..... The player must have one foot in bounds.

    Nothing about toes or backward motion. Just a foot down in bounds.


    But, a receiver can have the top of his toe slide on the green and be ruled complete. Is is just a backwards issue?
    Are you trying to be obtuse?

  7. #6
    Moderator Ldlane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shonto, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    11,038
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    BamaVictory on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Two toes = 1 Foot. 1 Foot = completed pass, therefore you have to drag a foot or have 2 toes for a completion.
    Sports Do Not Build Character...They Reveal It. - John Wooden

  8. November 10th, 2012, 07:26 PM

    Reason
    No Profanity or innuendo!

  9. #7
    BamaNation Second Team
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by Ldlane View Post
    Two toes = 1 Foot. 1 Foot = completed pass, therefore you have to drag a foot or have 2 toes for a completion.
    Solved. Thanks

  10. #8
    BamaNation First Team Im_on_dsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canton, GA
    Posts
    573
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    I want to know how Swopes jumping up and crowing loudly, prancing around TWICE, didn't get an unsportmanlike????

  11. #9
    BamaNation First Team yesitsmed23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    533
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    Cool on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Yeah several unsportsmanlike penalties should've been called against swipe and their RB when converting first downs!!!

  12. #10
    BamaNation All-American
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    4,091
    Post Thanks / Like

    Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by Bear Disciple View Post
    Entire foot must be in bounds. It was the correct call.
    Plus the ball was still moving in his hands as he was falling out of bounds.

  13. #11
    BamaNation All-SEC TexanBammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Richardson, TX
    Posts
    1,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    GameFace on TideFans.com

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by Im_on_dsp View Post
    I want to know how Swopes jumping up and crowing loudly, prancing around TWICE, didn't get an unsportmanlike????
    Completely agree. There were three calls (two on Swope and one on their running back) that I thought their taunting should've warranted a penalty.
    ALABAMA CRIMSON TIDE - SMU MUSTANGS - KENTUCKY WILDCATS

  14. #12
    BamaNation All-SEC
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,972
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    Quote Originally Posted by yesitsmed23 View Post
    Yeah several unsportsmanlike penalties should've been called against swipe and their RB when converting first downs!!!
    If the SEC officials need to be consistent with their taunting and unsportsmanlike conduct calls. Last week an LSU player got pull aside by the refs and told to knock it off after he made a first down gesture. Patterson for UT got a TD nullified because he high stepped it into the endzone.

    It's amazing that Swopes got away with the Cam Newton superman pose TWICE!

  15. #13
    BamaNation All-American
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    3,883
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Questions on Ref's Calls

    I'm more upset over the two Head-to Head calls that got overlooked...

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
'Gear UP! Get your University of Alabama Crimson Tide National Championship & Football Dynasty Gear!