I watched an old clip of this storied 6-3 Bulldog victory, but noticed something interesting. Bama fumbles near the 5 yard line en route to an otherwise game-clinching touchdown in the waning seconds of the game. State recovers to seal the win, but the story does not end there. State is penalized for delay of game, and takes a final snap at its 2 yard line to clinch the victory. The Bulldogs, however, fumble that snap with the ball landing near the goal line, but the game is ruled over. The footage follows the celebrating Bulldogs running upfield, but you can still see a cluster of players at the goal line fighting for the ball. I assume that it was ruled that the ball was recovered in the field of play, meaning the game would be over regardless of which team recovered. I guess my question is whether or not there is some lingering controversy about whether Bama recovered the fumble in the Bulldog end zone?