I've never seen the rule interpreted as broadly as we are seeing here. The rule might be read to cover any blindside hit but it is pretty obvious from watching games that is not how it is actually interpreted. Now the SEC/NCAA aren't known for consistency but to punish in this situation would be changing the way that rule has been interpreted for as long as it has been around.
I don't see how he can get a suspension just because they missed the call in the game. If they had flagged it he wouldn't have been kicked out for it so why do a suspension in hindsight.