First, I didn't see a thread on the Las Vegas Bowl, so I had to open this one. Second, those of you who are nuts about this teaser thread stuff, I don't know if this thread title meets your standards, but it is all I could think to use.
Now, on to my question.
Was anyone watching the Washington v. Boise St. game? Washington was ahead by one point. BSU was driving. BSU had a 4th and 1 and ran a QB sneak. Both side judges seemed to clearly mark BSU short of the first down. The one side judge was given the ball, and he marked it. The ball was kicked around. The side judge was trying to reset it. Then, out of nowhere, and without even taking the time to measure what seemed to be a short mark, the referee signaled first down. That was the most bizarre thing I have seen when it comes to a first down measurement, or rather a first down non-measurement. The guys in the booth made one little comment about it not being measured, but they never said anything else about it. It was weird.
Did anyone else see it?
Can anyone explain it?