A few observations about the run game and the OL

runtheoption22

News|BB|FB|REC Moderator
Staff member
Nov 10, 2003
Cleveland
I know this has been hashed and hashed, but as an offensive minded coach, I have looked at the Ole Miss game in particular a couple times and made some observations on what we do poorly, what we do well, and what we can do to hide our limitations.

1) The K-Bros have underwhelmed. Whether it be motivation, new OL coach, or whatever, the left side has not been good. We've seen speed rushes, bull rushes, shooting the gaps, and poor effort (or just slow) on pulling plays all work against the the left side in particular.

2) Kelly did not do poorly prior to his injury against OM. I think Kelly won the job because he is a bit more cerebral (Barret Jones prodigy) in the calls, etc. However, Lindsay is more of a mauler, and that was why I was excited when we got him out of HS. As Lindsay gets more comfortable, I think he will be the long term solution. In comparison to Kelly, I think he is less likely to get pushed back against a solid nose, like LSU's Johnson.

3A) This group zone blocks well. I saw it last year in mop-up duty. They ran B. Sims offensive package well, and that's a true zone L/zone R blocking scheme. Part of the reason is I bet the majority played in a spread in HS. We saw some true zone blocking in the second half.

3B) But....we have to have better blocking from the TE, not only in zone, but all blocking. Vogler got whipped several times against OM, and I wouldn't be surprised to see more Greene against the bigger teams. When we have looked poorly in zone, it's been a tackle or TE issue.