Bama fans (student section) may leave early but at least they show up!!! (Article)

spray004

Scout Team
Apr 20, 2007
Well obviously the SEC (or most schools in SEC) take football more serious than other conferences. To keep students filling the stands you need demand. Having less seats available than on campus students is a must. When I was a freshman I couldn't get season tickets I had to buy off other students. When I was in school a whole season was $35 total for football tickets. So for $5 a game I could get in which is great for students but on the flip side if I missed a game I was only out $5. If a non student fan misses a game they are out whatever the face value of the ticket is so they have more skin in the game. I don't know what student ticket prices are now days but I would say raising the pricing, if they are super cheap, might give them more incentive to at least go even though we really don't have that problem with having less than 4% going unused.

TheRealPokeChop

Hall of Fame
Jul 7, 2010
Hueytown, Al
In many ways sports are falling victim to their own success. It's far more convenient and cheap to watch from home even if you live in campus. You can pretty much find any college game on TV, in hd no less, and drink and eat to your hearts content without sitting on a metal bleacher or a hard plastic seat smaller than most fans behinds. It's a trend and as long as tv contracts and coverage improve all sports will suffer in attendance and it will likely get worse.

Go Bama

Hall of Fame
Dec 6, 2009
16outa17essee
Try her now.
That did the trick! Thanks.

I think the public is over saturated with sports. Most of the country doesn't support college football like we do in the South. The Oklahoma stats were surprising, but no surprise at all that Arizona students don't care to watch Oregon blow their team out. I suspect that's what most students at Arizona thought would happen.