Why American Jews eat Chinese at Christmas

AV8N

1st Team
Sep 18, 2013
Pretty neat story. We're not Jewish, but have been known to head out for Chinese when away from family.
The part about adaptation is true as well. Visit any McDonald's in another country and it will definitely feel different.

TIDE-HSV

Senior Administrator
Staff member
Oct 13, 1999
Huntsville, AL,USA
That's funny. I had a Jewish law partner for over 30 years and I have a graduate law degree from NYU, a school about 90% Jewish in a city with a heavy Jewish majority. We used to joke about the Chinese/Jewish Christmas thing, but the explanation was much more plebeian. Those were the only full-service restaurants open on Christmas Day. Some of the Jewish delis would be open part of the day, but, if you were Jewish (or even if you weren't) and wanted a sit-down meal, then Chinese was it. I must say, though, that my Jewish friends did turn me on to Chinese food, or, at least, the American-slanted version. We once made friends with the owner here of a Chinese restaurant, a very successful one, and, particularly the owner's son. When we'd come in, he wouldn't let us order from the menu. He'd ask which dishes we preferred and he'd then go back in the kitchen and have them prepare the authentic version. (Hell, he may have cooked it himself; all the employees were Korean.) It was quite different but very, very good, without seeming exaggerated, like a lot of the American versions, dripping with sauce, etc...

seebell

Hall of Fame
Mar 12, 2012
Gurley, Al
Pretty neat story. We're not Jewish, but have been known to head out for Chinese when away from family.
The part about adaptation is true as well. Visit any McDonald's in another country and it will definitely feel different.
Went to McDonalds in London in 1986 when I was in the USAF Reserves. Ordered a plain burger with tea. Got a meat patty on a bun with butter on it. Tea was hot tea. What the...

tide power fan

All-SEC
Nov 26, 2011