USC-AL in Dallas (Introducing to the board)

Trojaneen

Aug 12, 2016
Thanks for allowing me to join your board. I've been enjoying it for the last 2 months, as we anticipate our trip to Dallas.

I attended the SC-AL game in Birmingham in 1978. We also visited your campus as college students, and had a great time. These are my vivid memories: 1. The campus was beautiful 2. Live bands played at many of your fraternities and sororities, and they were excellent 3. The Tide fans couldn't have been nicer, even after they lost. We had a tremendous experience, and it is one of my all-time favorite away games.

Random thought on the "Roll Tears Roll" tshirt - it's lame. I'm sorry that it is out there.

Regarding the song "Tusk"... You may be angered or shocked when you hear our band play it, but it has ZERO to do with Alabama. Our band played on the original platinum recording with Fleetwood Mac almost 40 years ago. They consistently play with Fleetwood Mac for live performances, and Fleetwood Mac has played for our halftime. It is one our most beloved classics and it will undoubtedly be played in Dallas. Look it up on YouTube for a long history of renditions. Again, there is NO connection to this particular game.

How many fans do you think will travel to Dallas? I attend nearly every game, and have for decades. We travel very well, but this may be our largest away crowd ever, for a non-northern California game. I hope both sides have a good turnout.

Congratulations on on your ability to stay "on the mountain top" for the last several years. Saban is an excellent coach. We know the challenges of being the best - the haters, the bandwagons, the wannabes... but, it's glorious. Enjoy it while you have it, because it doesn't last forever.

I hope we have a great game, everyone stays healthy and we treat each other with respect. It should be a fantastic opener and weekend. Fight On!

Last edited:

jthomas666

Hall of Fame
Aug 14, 2002
Birmingham & Warner Robins