Logans Peanuts?

AllTide

2nd Team
Mar 9, 2006
N. Alabama
Can anyone tell me how to make Salted in the shell roasted peanuts like you get at Logans and other Roadhouse type restaurants? I have searched but have had no luck.

This is my first post on TideFans, I have been cruising (lurking about) the boards for a couple of months, trying to get the feel. I love the Grillin'&Chillin' board I have tried several of the recipies and can't wait to try more.

Thanks in advance

bayoutider

Administrator Emeritus & Chef-in-Chief
Oct 13, 1999
Tidefans.com
It's magic.

Actually it is very easy. Soak the peanuts in brine (salt & water) then dry them before roasting. The salt brine will penatrate the shell and be left behind after drying and roasting. Enjoy the secret.

bayoutider

Oct 13, 1999
Tidefans.com
I got an email asking for more information so here is how I do it.

Use a big pot or pan for about 10 lbs of raw peanuts in the shell. I use a 32 qt stainless steel pot. Fill about half full with warm water and add a box of salt. Use warm water so the salt will dissolve faster. Stir till the salt looks dissolvedl. Add the peanuts and stir them. Let the peanuts soak for 6-8 hours stirring occasionally.

Next I move the brine soaked peanuts outside to spread them out on an old window screen and turn an electric fan on them to help them dry. They need to dry overnight and sometimes more than that. Point is, if they are still wet in the morning, they need to dry some more. Do not try to roast wet peanuts, you will have steamed peanuts.

Finally, place the dried peanuts in a single layer in a preheated 350F oven for 15-20 minutes. The first pan is your test pan to find out how long it takes to make your perfect peanut so load that pan lightly and start checking after 15 minutes. The peanuts will continue to cook after leaving the oven so dump them back on the window screen so they will cool faster.