Student Loan Debt

uafanataum

All-American
Oct 18, 2014
Some people may view this as criticism of Alabama but it was just the example they used to point out the larger problems. For instance, our state made cuts to public university spending during the 2008 recession but forgot to undo those cuts when the recession ended.
Here is a list of state funding for public universities:
The states that did well surprised me.

J0eW

1st Team
Jul 18, 2020
I'm amazed. My, times have changed int he last 36 years since I earned my degree with financial aid. My loans added up to less than $12,000! I paid these and my wife's in less than 5 - 6 years.

This entire higher education funding model is equivalent to a Ponzi scheme.

Last edited:

Go Bama

Hall of Fame
Dec 6, 2009
16outa17essee
Some people may view this as criticism of Alabama but it was just the example they used to point out the larger problems. For instance, our state made cuts to public university spending during the 2008 recession but forgot to undo those cuts when the recession ended.
Here is a list of state funding for public universities:
The states that did well surprised me.
While the article may have just used Alabama as the example, it is very unflattering and rightfully so. The ROI of the school has to be factored in when choosing a school. The second list was very interesting.

• Thank You
Reactions: MobtownK and 92tide

92tide

TideFans Legend
May 9, 2000
East Point, Ga, USA
While the article may have just used Alabama as the example, it is very unflattering and rightfully so. The ROI of the school has to be factored in when choosing a school. The second list was very interesting.
that article makes me lose a lot of respect for my alma mater. and i know what they are doing is quite common.

Reactions: Go Bama

Go Bama

Hall of Fame
Dec 6, 2009
16outa17essee
that article makes me lose a lot of respect for my alma mater. and i know what they are doing is quite common.