What Alabama football coach Nick Saban said about retirement

We_are_Bama

Suspended
Dec 11, 2008
Of course, I don't want CNS going anywhere, period, but another reason I am happy to hear him say that retirement isn't even in his wheelhouse right now is because, as of now, at this point in time, there are NO viable candidates for the Alabama job, and I don't see there being any for the foreseeable future. Nobody who is currently an active head coach is truly worthy of the position.

DzynKingRTR

TideFans Legend
Dec 17, 2003
Vinings, ga., usa
@DogPatch what's up with the facepalm? If CNS retired right now, who do you see as a viable candidate for the Alabama head coaching job?
Kiffin seemingly wants the job. Saban could sneeze and Kiffin would write 9 tweets of how awesome Saban's sneezes are.

There are a few others that I would keep an eye on for later consideration.

RollTide_HTTR

Hall of Fame
Feb 22, 2017
I've been assuming every year is Saban's last year since 2016. It just helps me not worry over it and just enjoy each year he stays.

If I were a betting man I would expect him to go out with a Championship win though and possibly at the same time a starting QB is leaving.

That said I think Saban would be pretty careful in his planning(as he always is) and go out in the best way possible for Alabama, either with a successor already lined up or at least with the process started.

Last edited:

CB4

Hall of Fame
Aug 8, 2011
Birmingham, AL
Things can change rapidly though. I’m age 62 at present. I had always envisioned myself working until age 70. Not meaning to sound pretentious, I enjoy my work for the most the part, I’m darn good at it and probably better and more successful than I was ten years ago at age 52.