News Article: Task Force To Big-Money Boosters: NIL Sanctions Could Be Coming

• Bama Gymnastics @ NCAA Championship Semi-finals (ESPN2 | TONIGHT - 4/18 @ 8pm CT). We will have a game thread going in the Women's Sports board. Come join us!

Guido

All-SEC
Feb 24, 2017
I don't know why the courts would treat a new private entity any differently from the NCAA (which to my knowledge is also a private entity).

Good question on the right to work states. I don't know for sure, but am guessing the answer is yes. Mainly because you have to be a member of the NFLPA to play in the NFL, and I'd be surprised if none of the 32 NFL teams were in RTW states.

While I've slept with one for over 30 years, I'm not a lawyer myself. Any Legal Eagles on the board have a more informed answer?
I googled my question and saw some interesting answers. I don't think you can be compelled to join the union in RTW states. Of course they all do, i'm sure the internal pressure to join would be tremendous.It's an interesting question. Anyway i found a link that might help. https://overthecap.com/collective-bargaining-agreement/article/47/

• Thank You
Reactions: 4Q Basket Case

JDCrimson

Hall of Fame
Feb 12, 2006
If the NIL deals were legitimate then this would all work itself out imo. But right now it's a quid pro quo for signing with a particular school.

The players don't actually appear to be endorsing anything close to the value they are receiving. Virtually all the NILs are sham transactions.

What is the true value of Bryce Young's NIL if he is playing for Duke rather than Alabama?

Reactions: crimsonaudio

4Q Basket Case

FB|BB Moderator
Staff member
Nov 8, 2004
Tuscaloosa
If the NIL deals were legitimate then this would all work itself out imo. But right now it's a quid pro quo for signing with a particular school.

The players don't actually appear to be endorsing anything close to the value they are receiving. Virtually all the NILs are sham transactions.