News Article: Georgia football player Devin Willock, staff member Chandler LeCroy killed in car crash

NationalTitles18

TideFans Legend
May 25, 2003
Mountainous Northern California
Tide-HSV would be more qualified to answer that, but my knee-jerk, completely unprofessional "lawyered" opinion is, that would be on the fringes of liability and would be very hard to gather the evidence to prove that.

The majority of companies who go to the expense of putting GPS on their vehicles are actively tracking unauthorized use. Granted, I know they are out there, but if UGA is one of the companies using GPS tracking and NOT monitoring it, I would be very, very surprised.
I'm not a lawyer either, but if a pattern of neglect can be established then UGA could be held liable - potentially.

4Q Basket Case

FB|BB Moderator
Staff member
Nov 8, 2004
Tuscaloosa
I don’t know about liability. I do know the flagship university of a state as large as Georgia is a fat target.

It’s clear that UGA is handling the new disclosures a lot better than we did. Statements from Smart and the Athletic Department struck exactly the right tone on several different points.

Guessing they took notes from our abysmal handling of the Miller saga. They had statements prepared and ready to go ahead of time, and when the new information became public, they were prepared. That’s exactly the opposite of what we did — which was sit on our hands until Oats got blindsided in a press conference and stumbled badly.

The Miller thing should have been a non-story, but due to our own PR bungling, it turned into something much worse.

Last edited:
Reactions: B1GTide and jjv0004

AlexanderFan

Hall of Fame
Jul 23, 2004
Birmingham
I’m not saying he is innocent or guilty. I’m saying that comparing him to ruggs incident is apples and oranges. If you want to compare Chandler to Ruggs, it would be more apples to apples