For the Whiskey/Bourbon Drinkers. What's your "go to"?

TIDE-HSV

Senior Administrator
Staff member
Oct 13, 1999
Huntsville, AL,USA
Crown Royal Reserve for whiskey. Don't drink bourbon. Now, scotch is something I'm growing fond of.

Sent from my iPhone 7 Plus [emoji336] using Tapatalk
When I drink hard - and that's not often - I tend towards scotch. When I was a freshman, I got so drunk off bourbon, I threw up for three days. That was 1957. Now, even a whiff of the smell of bourbon makes my stomach do flips...

When I drink hard - and that's not often - I tend towards scotch. When I was a freshman, I got so drunk off bourbon, I threw up for three days. That was 1957. Now, even a whiff of the smell of bourbon makes my stomach do flips...
Yeah, bourbon got me really sick while I was in Iraq. Couldn't believe how bad it was. I stay away from it also.

Sent from my iPhone 7 Plus [emoji336] using Tapatalk

GrayTide

Hall of Fame
Nov 15, 2005
Greenbow, Alabama
The same thing happened to me when I was a freshman, although it wasn't 1957. :wink: Mostly only wine now, but occasionally Scotch and in warmer weather Vodka and Tonic.

jabcmb

All-American
Feb 1, 2006
Birmingham, AL
I, too, left part of my insides on the Bama campus, about 11 years after you. As I recall, there was a brand of whiskey called Old Stillbrook that was $5 a quart (not fifth). A bargain, if you want a few days of self induced torture.
Today, I buy Gentleman Jack or Woodford Reserve, but that's from habit. I like Irish whiskey but it's hard to find many of their fine brands here.

Reactions: Islander

tidefanbeezer

All-American
Sep 25, 2006
Atlanta, GA
For bourbon, the readily available stuff that I enjoy:
Buffalo Trace
Eagle Rare
Weller Antique
Old Forrester Signature
Angel's Envy
EH Taylor Small Batch
Henry McKenna Bottled in Bond
Willett Pot Still

Some of the harder to find / more expensive stuff that's good:
Blanton's
Old Forrester Birthday Bourbon
Jefferson Reserve Groth Cask Finish