CFP expansion thoughts by Barry Alvarez

BamaNation

Publisher and Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Apr 9, 1999
Silicon Slopes
TideFans.com
CFP expansion should only take place in the context of what I have been advocating for over 25 years: 5 major conferences leaving the NCAA to create an association of schools that are academically high standards + capacity (and interest) to invest in High level athletics across the board. THEN and ONLY then we should talk CFP expansion.

KrAzY3

Hall of Fame
Jan 18, 2006
kraizy.art
CFP expansion, IMO, is inevitable. Too much money involved and much more to be made
For the record, when statements like these are made: "Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez said in a recent Q&A the committee isn’t following the criteria for selecting the top four teams", what he's really saying is they're not just automatically selecting conference champions like he wants, and he's mad they're actually choosing the four most deserving teams.

That aside, this entire debate deserves a big I told you so to those that pretended a playoff was about putting in the most deserving teams. That's not what this is about, and it's never what this has been about. It's about inclusion, which is what I said all along.

Finally, a playoff expansion will be the death blow to the bowl games, which is what actually set college football apart for about 100 years.

81usaf92

TideFans Legend
Apr 26, 2008
South Alabama
I would like to remind you that Barry Alverez is known to be the donkey at the board meeting. So putting stock on Barry saying it doesn't necessarily mean things are going to move faster to the inevitable expansion. I think expansion will happen, but I think it will take something like 2011 to happen... and no 2017 doesn't = 2011.

81usaf92

TideFans Legend
Apr 26, 2008
South Alabama