My thoughts on Iron Bowl rivalry.

BAMA 22 HEISMAN

1st Team
Dec 13, 2009
Let me say I have been watching the Iron Bowl for approximately 35 years and these are just my thoughts. I always felt the team that came into this game that was obviously superior was a lock to win. It has really been in the last 5 to 7 years I have changed my opinion. There have been many times Bama was a clear favorite but both teams gave it their all and it came down to the end.

I know it is a huge cliché, but yes throw the records out for the Iron Bowl because I will never again just guarantee Bama is a lock even if we are unbeaten and the barn has not won a game. To see tonight's game and how every player gave it their all. Fans (including myself) crying at home, or in the stadium, I am realizing more and more what this rivalry is all about. And I have been part of it for almost four decades. I am still learning what the Iron Bowl is about and really means.

Oh and let me just say, I respect the Auburn players and team as people. BUT, I HATE auburn football with a passion!

TopBamaBloke

Bamanation Citizen
Jun 7, 2021
There have been a few games where the underdog came up just short, but there hasn’t been a major upset in this rivalry since 1984 when a 4-6 Alabama team denied auburn a conference title. We were very lucky to win last night, but it will go down in the books as one where the favored team with the better record won.

I love this rivalry only when we win the game.

81usaf92

TideFans Legend
Apr 26, 2008
South Alabama
Iron Bowl... A game in which Bama cant afford to lose and Auburn must win. Really winning the Iron Bowl for Alabama fans is just a relief that they wont be hounded for a whole year and wont have to see the t-shirt for the next 10 years about that Iron Bowl. The game is far more important to Auburn.