Thoughts on "Thank You" notes and their place in today's culture

Bamabuzzard

FB Moderator
Staff member
Aug 15, 2004
Where ever there's BBQ, Bourbon & Football
When I was a kid I was taught that sending "Thank You" notes for gifts I received on certain occasions was a big deal, and not sending one was even a bigger deal. So when I graduated HS, college, then got married, I made it a point to send "Thank You" cards to everyone who took the time and money to give me a gift. Now that I'm of age to be on the other end of these events, I'm noticing "Thank You" cards are hit and miss and many times nonexistent. But it seems (and I may be wrong on this) "today" sending "Thank You" cards isn't as big of a deal as it used to be. I say that because over recent years we've sent graduations gifts and wedding gifts to many different people in different social circles and I can count on one hand how many "Thank You" cards we received.

My parents (specifically my mom) has noticed the same thing, she recently said they've now gotten to the point of not even thinking about it, that "times have changed since we were that age" and it must not be that big of a deal anymore. Has anyone else experienced or noticed this?

Last edited:
  • Thank You
Reactions: Bazza

4Q Basket Case

FB|BB Moderator
Staff member
Nov 8, 2004
Tuscaloosa
Absolutely, even from recipients who I know for a 100% fact were not raised that way. Sent a wedding present to the child of a longtime friend, whose wife is in the development (read: fundraising) function of a major university.

Nothing.

Asked if the child (the bride, if that matters) got the gift. Yes, and uses it every day. No response.