Byrum fell on the ball after the onside kick. I was under the impression that the kicker couldn't be the first player to touch the ball. Am I mistaken?
Last edited:
On kickoffs, the ball is live once it has travelled forward 10 yards whether or not the receiving team has touched it unless it hits the ground in the end zone untouched. If a team is behind late in the game and they score a touchdown or field goal, they sometimes use an on-side kick for the following kickoff. An on-side kick is a kickoff that is deliberately designed to go just over 10 yards.
On kickoffs, the ball is live once it has travelled forward 10 yards whether or not the receiving team has touched it unless it hits the ground in the end zone untouched. If a team is behind late in the game and they score a touchdown or field goal, they sometimes use an on-side kick for the following kickoff. An on-side kick is a kickoff that is deliberately designed to go just over 10 yards.
On punts, if the returner lets the ball roll, and the kick team downs it, the ball belongs to the receiving team. Are the rules different for kickoffs?
Yes, the ball is live at 10 yards, therefore any player can touch it.
Tennessee kicked the ball into the ground; it just happened to bounce extremely high after contact with the turf. A very well executed (or lucky) kick.Yes the kicker can be the first one to touch the ball. My question comes from the fair catch rule. If the kicker doesn't kick the ball into the ground like Auburn's kicker did, but kicked it up and to the sideline like tennessee did. Why doesn't one of the receiveing teams players call for a fair catch? Had Julio done that, wouldn't Tennessee have got a penalty for interfering with a fair catch, and it would have been our ball?
The refs did not rule Javy had called a fair catch after the ball hit the ground. They ruled he called it before it hit the ground.A related question: Recalling the penalty JA received for supposedly calling a fair catch on a punt were the ball had hit the ground (i.e., delay of game penalty when he was waiving off the other players to get out of the way), can a player call a fair catch on an onside kick? Even if the ball has hit the ground? Or is bouncing but not rolling? Frankly, I was a little shocked that you could call a fair catch on a punt after it had hit the ground.
Recalling the penalty JA received for supposedly calling a fair catch on a punt were the ball had hit the ground (i.e., delay of game penalty when he was waiving off the other players to get out of the way), can a player call a fair catch on an onside kick? Even if the ball has hit the ground? Or is bouncing but not rolling? Frankly, I was a little shocked that you could call a fair catch on a punt after it had hit the ground.
The refs did not rule Javy had called a fair catch after the ball hit the ground. They ruled he called it before it hit the ground.
My understanding is the refs are trying to prevent returners from calling a fair catch in order to slow down the gunners and then pick up the ball up and run.
JA gave the "getaway" signal, which by rule, is an invalid fair catch signal. When that happens, the receiver loses protection and cannot advance the kick. He ran with the ball, he was running with a dead ball and penalized for delay of game.
Posted via Mobile Device
My answer may have been confusing. An invalid fair catch signal is not a foul (under NCAA Rules). You just lose protection and can't advance. Most receivers who give that signal let the ball roll dead. They get in trouble when they try to advance after giving any signal. I have seen this happen and get shut down in several games this year.
Posted via Mobile Device
The punt hits the ground and the receiver waves off teammates. He then fields the ball (still on his feet) to minimize the loss of field position.
I have a slightly different twist on this same question... in the slo-mo replay I saw on ESPN (I was at the game so didn't see it on TV) it seemed the ball bounced off the ground after it was kicked and hit the kicker on the side of the leg.... would that count as illegal touching since it happened within 10 yards?