News Article: Birmingham Band Director Arrested

Ole Man Dan

Hall of Fame
Apr 21, 2008
Gadsden, Al.
There are limits to police power and the police appear to have exceeded them.

I see this quickly going to NS, where it likely belongs.
I was a Highschool Band Director for 5 years. My Bands played after every game, win or lose.
Later on I was a Police Officer for 30+ years.
In my opinion the Officers involved exced their authority.
If there was a valid safety threat, the Officers should have discussed the danger with the Band Direstor, and ASKED him to cut short the concert after the game. That didn't happen.
The Band Director was ordered ... That didn't go over well.

TitleWave

All-American
Dec 3, 2012
I was a Highschool Band Director for 5 years. My Bands played after every game, win or lose.
Later on I was a Police Officer for 30+ years.
In my opinion the Officers involved exced their authority.
If there was a valid safety threat, the Officers should have discussed the danger with the Band Direstor, and ASKED him to cut short the concert after the game. That didn't happen.
The Band Director was ordered ... That didn't go over well.
Just think: If you had been omniscient about the stanzas of your career progression, you could've arrested yourself for disturbing the peace, refused to press charges, thrown yourself at the mercy of the court, been exonerated for lack of evidence produced by your po-po persona, then picked up your baton and led the band through a rousing rendition of "Fools Rush In...Where Angels Fear to Tread" (or taze!) and then celebrated a 48-0 loss to your archrival as doing community service for your court fees! Remember the "American Pie" cri de coeur "The marching band refused to yield!"

OakMtn4Bama

All-American
Jan 10, 2007
Trussville